约瑟夫-阿尔贝斯。绘画的核心

2022年5月12日-11月30日
棕榈沙漠,加利福尼亚州
"知道钻石珍贵很容易,知道红宝石有深度很好,但更要看到鹅卵石的神奇。"- 约瑟夫-阿尔贝斯

关于

这场约瑟夫-阿尔贝斯作品的特别展示,深入探讨了他通过方形结构对色彩的研究。该展示会将阿尔贝斯对阅读色彩和如何阅读绘画的强调纳入视野。

约瑟夫-阿尔贝斯是现代艺术的先驱之一,他的艺术作品和他在包豪斯黑山学院耶鲁大学期间的有影响力的教诲都引领了潮流。阿尔贝斯出生于德国,在现代主义艺术和思想的中心--包豪斯关闭后移民到了美国--原因是它在1930年代的德国被迫终止。

阿尔贝斯和他的妻子安妮,她自己也是现代纺织艺术的先驱,将把他们在包豪斯学到的和教的东西带到黑山学院的创立中。这所具有传奇色彩的学院提倡艺术、学习和教学的新理念,其教职员工和学生中有露丝-阿泽、罗伯特-马瑟韦尔赛-通布利罗伯特-劳森伯格、默斯-坎宁安、约翰-凯奇、伊莱恩 和威廉-德库宁

黑山学院,当一个学生问他要教什么时,阿尔贝斯回答说:"要睁开眼睛"。这种审视和重新想象观看方式的原则同样可以应用于他最著名的系列绘画 "向广场致敬"。虽然他对英语的掌握程度不高,但通过手势和表演,阿尔贝斯可以与他的学生沟通,以新的方式和新的视角来对待绘画和艺术。这个过程与最终产品一样重要。

他的教学风格也同样适用于他的绘画过程。人们很容易将阿尔贝斯的 "向广场致敬"系列画作视为极简主义或简单的抽象主义。但这些画对观众提出了更多的要求,要求他们考虑色彩和形式的关系。请注意,这些方块并非完全居中,而是重在底部。这如何改变了这些方块之间的关系?与墙壁的关系?与观者的关系?

观察彼此相邻的颜色的关系。它是否强化了它旁边的颜色?它是否使颜色退到背景中或向前跳跃?值得注意的是,阿尔贝斯很少混合颜料,而是依靠管子里的纯色。他将比较不同公司的相同色调,他的梅索尼特板的背面见证了他对颜色的注释。对阿尔贝斯来说,绘画是关于相对性的--颜色、形式、物体和观众的关系。这些画作是对这种相对性的庆祝,对感知本身的庆祝,超越了练习,只用绘画的基本词汇就能达到平衡的交响乐。从某种意义上说,它们预示着极简主义音乐的概念--在最基本的基本模式上的变化,创造出丰富的层次感的作品。

让我们把二战后的时代所发生的快速变化放在眼里,其中大部分是由于阿尔贝斯和他的教诲。艺术家们不再觉得必须要画具象的东西了。抽象表现主义成为主导风格。最终的结果越来越不重要,重要的是达到这个结果的过程。对材料的实验达到了新的高度。阿尔贝斯早些时候曾用废弃的玻璃和金属来创造艺术(以及在他的教义中),这与黑山学院的学生罗伯特-劳森伯格后来用他的联合体取得的成就相呼应。而且,推动物质性的不仅仅是约瑟夫。同样重要的是Anni Albers和她对纺织品的建筑方法。

在一个淹没我们视觉感知的世界里,阿尔贝斯颠覆了我们正常的观察方式。我们得到了喘息的机会,但这些机会是复杂的,是仅由绘画的组成部分形成的魔法。除了他的画作,阿尔贝斯还开发了一种艺术教学法,这种教学法至今仍影响着艺术家的培训。他的影响通过他的画作和他的教义向前荡漾。

"同步对比不仅仅是一种奇怪的光学现象--它是绘画的核心"。- 约瑟夫-阿尔贝斯

询问

查询 - 艺术单品

其他资源

艺术家

About

“Easy to know that diamonds are precious, good to know that rubies have depth, but more to see that pebbles are miraculous.” – Josef Albers

This special presentation of works by Josef Albers dives into his investigation of color through the structure of the square. The presentation puts into perspective Albers emphasis on reading color and how to read paintings.

Josef Albers was one of the pioneers of Modern art, leading the way with both his artistic body of work and for his influential teachings during his time at the Bauhaus, Black Mountain College, and Yale University. Born in Germany, Albers immigrated to the US after the closure of the Bauhaus, the epicenter of modernist art and thinking – reasons that forced its termination in 1930s Germany.

Albers and his wife Anni, herself a pioneer of modern textile art, would take what they learned and taught at the Bauhaus to the founding of Black Mountain College. The legendary college promoted new ideas of art, learning, and teaching and counted amongst its faculty and students Ruth Asawa, Robert Motherwell, Cy Twombly, Robert Rauschenberg, Merce Cunningham, John Cage, and Elaine and Willem de Kooning.

At Black Mountain College, when asked by a student what he would teach, Albers responded, “To open eyes.” This same principle to examining and re-imagining the ways of looking can be applied to his most famous series of paintings “Homage to the Square.” Though he had a tenuous grasp of English, through gesture and performance, Albers could communicate with his students to approach painting and art in new ways, with fresh perspectives. The process was just as important as the final product.

So too did his teaching style apply to his process of painting. It can be easy to dismiss Albers series of paintings “Homage to the Square” as Minimalism or simple abstraction. But these paintings ask more of the viewer, to consider the relationship of color and form. Notice that the squares are not perfectly centered but weighted to the bottom. How does this change the relationship of the squares to each other? To the wall? To the viewer?

Observe the relationship of color placed next to each other. Does it intensify the color next to it? Does it make the color recede to the background or jump forward? It is important to note that Albers rarely mixed paints, relying on the pure hue from the tube, He would compare the same hue from different companies and the back of his Masonite panels bear witness to the notes of color he would make. For Albers, painting is about relativity – the relationship of color, form, object, and viewer. These canvases are a celebration of that relativity, of perception itself, reaching beyond exercises into balanced symphonies using only the essential vocabulary of painting. In a sense, they anticipate the concept of minimalist music – variations on the most essential and basic patterns to create richly layered compositions.

Let us put into perspective the rapid change happening in the era after World War II, much of which was due to Albers and his teachings. Artists no longer felt compelled to paint figuratively. Abstract Expressionism became the dominant style. The end result mattered less and less as the process to get to that result. Experimentation of materiality reached new heights. Albers had earlier used discarded glass and metal to create art (and in his teachings) an echo of what Robert Rauschenberg, a student of Black Mountain College, would later accomplish with his combines. And it was not just Josef who pushed materiality. Just as importantly was Anni Albers and her architectural approach to textiles.

In a world that inundates our visual perceptions, Albers upends our normal ways of seeing. We are given moments of respite that are nevertheless complex, magic formed out of only the building blocks of paintings. Beyond his canvases, Albers developed a pedagogy for the teaching of art, one that still affects artists training today. His influence ripples forward through his paintings and his teachings.

“Simultaneous contrast is not just a curious optical phenomenon – it is the very heart of painting.” – Josef Albers

Artists