ماده وتجريد: [ثاستر] بوابات, [سم] [جلليم], و [رودني] [مكميليان]

يوليو 25-أغسطس 31, 2019
بالم ديزرت ، كاليفورنيا

عن

يجمع هذا المعرض الافتراضي بين تياستر غيتس وسام جيليام ورودني ماكميليان الذين يستكشفون التجريد من خلال مواد غير تقليدية ولكنها شائعة. من خلال هذا الاستخدام المادي، يتخطى غيتس وجيليام وماكميليان التسطيح العقيم للفن التجريدي. هذه الطبقات من المواد وبالتالي من المعنى ، والاصطدام مع عدم التمثيل فواصل فضفاضة من تأثير مؤرخ الفن كليمنت غرينبرغ الذي زبح الفن التجريدي بعيدا عن السياق وإلى إصرار عقائدي من التسطيح.

أكثر من فنان، يعمل تياستر غيتس أيضا ً كأمين، ومخطط حضري، وميسر للمشروع. من النحت إلى الرسم، والتركيب إلى المشاريع العامة، وأعمال غيتس هي محاور للتشكيك في العمل والسلع الأساسية مع جلب الناس والأشياء التي غالبا ما تكون غير مرئية وغير مسموعة. غالباً ما يأخذ فن غيتس الصفات الشكلية للفن التجريدي أو يشير إلى الحركات الفنية التي يستخدمها بعد ذلك كوسيلة لمعالجة القضايا الأكبر المتعلقة بالعرق والطبقة والجنس في المجتمع الأمريكي مع مبدأ الفن الأوسع المتأصل في العمل الاجتماعي والمسؤولية. للوهلة الأولى، تبدو المنحوتات في المعرض مثل منحوتات تجريدية راسخة في الحد الأدنى. ومع ذلك ، في المواد وعملية الخلق ، وهذه المنحوتات تكشف عن نفسها كأشياء التي تعكس على العمل والعرق ؛ استكشاف المادية ليس مجرد استكشاف في حد ذاته كما كان يمكن أن تفعل الحد الأدنى السابق والفنانين التجريدية ولكن واحد أن اللوالب خارج لدراسة سياقها داخل المجتمع.

على سبيل المثال ، يأخذ Convex Concave الطوب حسب الطلب الذي استخدمه غيتس سابقًا للسفينة السوداء لقديس في مركز ووكر للفنون ويعيد استخدامه في منحوتة تشبه اللوحة تشير إلى فنان الحد الأدنى مثل Sol LeWitt ، والعمل على صنع الطوب ، والسياق الأصلي للطوب للتركيب في Walker.

في بدون عنوان (الأرضيات) والوقوف في الفترة من حطام 25، غيتس قد رفعت المواد المتواضعة التي يبدو ندوب في الطواطم الحد الأدنى. ليس مجرد تحقيق في الحد الأدنى والمواد ، والجري من خلال هذه الأعمال هي مسائل الصناعة وفي حالة الوقوف في الأسئلة ما تبقى من الصروح التي تم هدمها.

دخل سام جيليام عالم الفن كمتعبيرات تجريدي في وضع حقل اللون. ولد جيليام في عام 1933 في توبيلو بولاية ميسيسيبي، ووجد في نهاية المطاف طريقه إلى واشنطن العاصمة حيث أصبح جزءًا من مدرسة واشنطن للألوان التي تم تجميعها بشكل فضفاض والتي شملت موريس لويس وكينيث نولاند وآن ترويت وألما توماس. اكتسب شهرة ليصبح أول رسام لخلق فكرة اللوحات غير المدعومة. انتقل جيليام طوال حياته المهنية من هذه اللوحة المتدلية إلى الكولاج مستوحاة من موسيقى الجاز لقطع قماش مغطاة في impasto مرصع بشدة.

في الأعمال في المعرض ، يمكن للمشاهد رؤية توليفة من مهنة جيليام بما في ذلك الدعامات على شكل ومجالات اللون التي تتراكم في هياكل التفاعل. في تكوينها ، يمكن للمرء أن يرى حتى تأثير مستمر من موسيقيي الجاز مثل مايلز ديفيس وجون كولتران. طوال كل مرحلة من مراحل حياته المهنية وكما هو موضح في هذه الأعمال هو التركيز على اللون والشكل والبنية التي تتجاوز فكرة أن في ذروة التجريد يد الفنان يختفي. هنا ، في حوافها الخام وتتشكل وطبقة من الألوان ، فإن يد جيليام واضحة وموجودة.

رودني ماكميليان فنان متعدد التخصصات يعمل في النحت والرسم والأداء والفيديو. ولد ماكميليان في ولاية كارولينا الجنوبية، وعاش في جنوب كاليفورنيا منذ عام 2000 حيث يدرس في جامعة كاليفورنيا في لوس أنجلوس. الفنان يشكل عمله حول التاريخ الاجتماعي والسياسي للولايات المتحدة حتى من خلال التجريد. للوهلة الأولى ، يبدو أن Lollipop والعلم هو استمرار للتعبيرية المجردة في تدفقها الطبقات من الطلاء. لهذه الأعمال، مثل التعبيريين المجردة من النير، ماميليان يصب ويقطر الدهانات. ومع ذلك ، في الفحص الدقيق ، يبدو أن الأعمال تشير إلى خريطة أو مناظر طبيعية ، وبالتالي ، تاريخ الصراع والسلطة الملازمة لصنع الخرائط ورسم المناظر الطبيعية. من يصنع الخرائط ولمن؟ ما الذي تمثله العلامة؟ من يملك الأرض وبأي ثمن؟ ماذا يحدث في تلك الأرض؟ وعلاوة على ذلك، فإن المواد التي تستخدم الطلاء المنزلي، وملابس المتاجر المقتصدة، وغيرها من المواد الصناعية، تُزَم قضايا الاقتصاد وإمكانية الوصول، بل وحتى الناحية الزمنية، لأن المواد بطبيعتها غير مستقرة وغير أرشيفية. إن ضخامة الأعمال تجعل المشاهد أكثر وعيًا بجسده وفي Flag ، فإن "عنصر ما بعد المستهلك" للدعوى والأوراق يؤكد كذلك على جسم الإنسان ، وخاصة الأجسام السوداء ، مع طبقات معاني إضافية للخسارة والمنزل.

يقوم الفنانون الثلاثة في المعرض، ثياستر غيتس، وسام جيليام، ورودني ماكميليان، بتوليف المادية مع لغة التجريد لاستخراجها بكل معانيها. يصبح تاريخ الفن مُعيدًا في التاريخ الاجتماعي والسياسي وتصبح اللغة البصرية لغة عامية نتحدث فيها عن وجودنا الحالي والتاريخي. وكما يلاحظ ماميليان، "التاريخ موجود متوتر. إنه حاضر لي".

العمل الفني

About

This virtual exhibition brings together Theaster Gates, Sam Gilliam, and Rodney McMillian who explore abstraction through unconventional but common materials. Through this use of materiality, Gates, Gilliam, and McMillian transcend the sterile flatness of abstract art. This layering of material and thus of meaning, colliding with non-representation breaks loose from the influence of art historian Clement Greenberg who corralled abstract art away from context and into a dogmatic insistence of flatness.

More than an artist, Theaster Gates also works as curator, urban planner, and project facilitator. From sculpture to painting, installation to public projects, Gates’s works are hubs in which to question labor and commodity while also bringing to the fore people and things that are often unseen and unheard. Gates’s art often takes the formal qualities of abstract art or references art movements which he then uses as a vehicle to address larger issues of race, class, and gender in American society with the wider principle of art rooted in social action and responsibility. At first glance, the sculptures in the exhibition look like abstract sculptures entrenched in minimalism. However, in the material and process of creation, these sculptures reveal themselves as objects that reflect on labor and race; an exploration of materiality is not just exploration in of itself as previous minimalists and abstract artists would have done but one that spirals out to examine its context within society.

For example, Convex Concave takes custom-made bricks that Gates had previously used for Black Vessel for a Saint at the Walker Art Center and repurposes it into a painting-like sculpture that references minimalist artist like Sol LeWitt, the labor of making bricks, and the original context of the bricks for the installation at the Walker.

In Untitled (Flooring) and Stand-Ins for a Period of Wreckage 25, Gates has elevated humble materials that appear scarred into minimalist totems. Not just an investigation into minimalism and materials, running through these works are questions of industry and in the case of Stand-Ins questions of what remains of edifices that have been demolished.

Sam Gilliam entered the art world as an abstract expressionist in the color field mode. Born in 1933 in Tupelo, Mississippi, Gilliam eventually found his way to Washington, D.C. where he became part of the loosely grouped Washington Color School that included Morris Louis, Kenneth Noland, Anne Truitt, and Alma Thomas. He gained fame for becoming the first painter to create the idea of unsupported canvases. Gilliam moved throughout his career from these draped canvas to collage inspired by jazz to cut canvas covered in heavily encrusted impasto.

In the works in the exhibition, the viewer can see a synthesis of Gilliam’s career including shaped supports and fields of color that build up into interacting structures. In their composition, one can even see a continued influence of jazz musicians like Miles Davis and John Coltrane. Throughout each phase of his career and as exemplified in these works is a focus on color, form, and structure that transcends the idea that in the zenith of abstraction the hand of the artist disappears. Here, in their raw and shaped edges and layer of colors, the hand of Gilliam is clear and present.

Rodney McMillian is multidisciplinary artist working in sculpture, painting, performance, and video. Born in South Carolina, McMillian has lived in southern California since 2000 where he teaches at UCLA. The artist shapes his work around the socio-political history of the United States even through abstraction. At first glance, Lollipop and Flag appears to be a continuation of abstract expressionism in its layered flow of paint. For these works, like abstract expressionists of yore, McMillian pours and drips paints. Nevertheless, on closer inspection, the works appears to suggest a map or landscape and thus, the history of struggle and power inherent to mapmaking and landscape painting. Who makes maps and for whom? What does a flag represent? Who owns the land and at what cost? What happens in that land? Furthermore, in using household paint, thrift store clothing, and other industrial materials, McMillian mines issues of economy, accessibility, and even temporality as the materials are inherently unstable and non-archival. The monumentality of the works makes the viewer more aware of their own body and in Flag, the “post-consumer item” of the suit and sheets further emphasizes the human body, particularly of black bodies, while layering additional meanings of loss and of home.

The three artists in the exhibition, Theaster Gates, Sam Gilliam, and Rodney McMillian, synthesize materiality with the language of abstraction to mine them for all its meaning. Art history becomes recontextualized within socio-political history and visual language becomes a vernacular in which to speak to our current and historical presence. As McMillian notes, “History is present tense. It’s present for me.”

Artists