بساطتها الفخمة

ديسمبر 3, 2019-يناير 31, 2020
بالم ديزرت ، كاليفورنيا

عن

هذا المعرض علي الإنترنت يسحب من جميع انحاء المواقع الخمسة هيذر جيمس لميزه الاعمال الحد الأدنى من البساطة الغنية والفاخرة. وعلي الرغم من ان هذه الاعمال ليست مرتبطة بشكل صارم بحركات الحد الأدنى أو ما بعد الحد الأدنى من الستينات والسبعينات ، الا انها متحدة في تركيزها علي الشكل أو اللون أو الملمس. ويظهر عنوان المعرض المتناقض علي ما يبدو نهجا لهذه الاعمال التي يظهر فيها المظهر الصارخ ، وأحيانا الزاهد ، وفره الاهميه النسبية أو التعقيد العميق للمعني الذي يدعم العمل. فقط من خلال تتكشف من الوقت-الوقت المستغرق في دراسة الاعمال ، والوقت الذي يعيش مع العمل-لا فخامه هذه الاعمال الفنية تكشف عن أنفسهم.

مركزيه إلى المعرض الاثنان نحت ب انيش كابور. "بدون عنوان" ، نحت الحجر ، هو بسيط مخادعه. كابور يسخر ليس فقط الحجر المشترك ولكن بدلا المرمر ، وغالبا ما ترتبط مع الروعة. ويؤكد كذلك علي الطابع المادي للنحت من خلال النحت الذي يعرض العبور ضد كثافته من أجل التامل في مفهوم الفراغ.

علي السطح ، "السينما الدم" هو دائره بسيطه من الأكريليك والصلب وحتى الآن ، والمشي حول النحت ، واحده يري والعادات الحمراء العميقة كما الضوء يمر من خلال يخلق يغسل من اللون أو تشويه وجهه نظرنا من خلال ذلك. فالقرص الأحمر البسيط يتحول إلى طوطم مشبع بالمفاهيم ، كما ان الكثير من اعمال كابور هي ، من اللون ، والضوء ، والفضاء ، والفراغ.

"اوف وايت" من قبل تاداكي Kuwayama هي واحده من عدد قليل من الاعمال في المعرض المرتبطة بساطتها من 1960s. عملت kuwayama جنبا إلى جانب الفنانين الحد الأدنى الأخرى بما في ذلك دونالد جود, دان فلافين, وفرانك ستيلا. باستخدام المواد المنزلية المتاحة تجاريا واللون ، والعمل Kuwayama يفحص اللون داخل الفضاء ثنائي الابعاد. باستخدام رذاذ الطلاء ، وقال انه يمحو يد الفنان وفي تركيبها في ألمنيوم ، وتواصل التحقيق بساطتها في وسائل الإنتاج والفن. وعلاوة علي ذلك ، فان جبل ألومنيوم هو مجرد اقتراح من التثبيت ويمكن تثبيتها في اي تكوين. Kuwayama يرفع الشكل الهندسي الصارم واللون النقي في انعكاس هادئ والتامل العميق من الفضاء والوقت.

ومنذ الستينات من القرن الماضي ، أعاد الفنانون المعاصرون وحتى العصريون النظر في بساطتها وركزوا علي التوترات بين السياق التاريخي الاجتماعي والفني. النحت الشعري ريتشارد توتل ، "بدون عنوان (القماش والطلاء العمل #2)" لا يزال لديه القدرة علي الصدمة-حبل بسيط ، والقماش ، والطلاء يصبح لحظه من التامل غنائي ان يقطع كيف ننتقل من خلال وتصور العالم. لفته صغيره من المنسوجات الناعمة تخريب جمعيه المعادن الضخمة والذكورية والحجر مع النحت أو حتى عبقريه الفنية. المثل ، علي حد سواء "محدب ، مقعر" من قبل بوابات theaster و "الشبكة الكبيرة/سولو المسيل للدموع" من قبل الجنيه الإسترليني روبي ريكونسيفيس بساطتها كوسيلة لتحليل القضايا الاجتماعية والثقافية في حين أيضا ينته سحر مع الإنتاج الميكانيكي من قبل الدنيا مثل جود أو حتى kuwayama.

في جميع الاعمال في المعرض ، الفنان اما يتحول أو يسعى بنشاط التقشف إلى اعمال المعني الرائع المكثف. الثراء ليس مجرد وفره ماديه ولكن أيضا وفره عاطفيه وفلسفيه وشعريه. ومن بين الفنانين الآخرين في المعرض فرانسيس سيلينتانو ، جين ديفيس ، طوني دي لوس رييس ، السوورث كيلي ، يانيس كوناليس ، يايوي كوراما ، تاداسكي كووياما ، روبرت ماذويل ، كينيث نولند ، بيتر يونغ ، نورمان زاممت.

العمل الفني

توني دي لوس رييس

Opulent Minimalism

December 3, 2019 - January 31, 2020
Palm Desert, CA

About

This online exhibition pulls from across the five Heather James locations to feature minimalist works of rich and luxurious simplicity. Although not all strictly related to the Minimalist or Post-minimalist movements of the 1960s and 1970s, these works are united in their focus on form, color, or texture. The seemingly contradictory exhibition title informs an approach to these works in which the stark, and at times ascetic, appearance belies the lushness of materiality or profound complexity of meaning that supports the work. Only through the unfolding of time – time spent examining the works, time living with the work – does the sumptuousness of these artworks reveal themselves.

Central to the exhibition are the two sculptures by Anish Kapoor. “Untitled”, a stone sculpture, is deceptively simple. Kapoor harnesses not just common stone but rather alabaster, often associated with magnificence. He further emphasizes the materiality of the sculpture through carving which displays its translucency against its density in order to meditate on the concept of the void.

On the surface, “Blood Cinema” is a simple circle of acrylic and steel and yet, walking around the sculpture, one both sees and inhabits the deep red hue as the light passing through creates washes of color or distorting our view through it. A simple red disk transforms into a totem imbued with concepts, as so much of Kapoor works are, of color, light, space, and the void.

“Off White” by Tadaaki Kuwayama is one of the few works in the exhibition associated with the Minimalism of the 1960s. Kuwayama worked alongside other Minimalist artists including Donald Judd, Dan Flavin, and Frank Stella. Using commercially available household materials and color, Kuwayama’s work examines color within two-dimensional space. By using spray paint, he erases the hand of the artist and in mounting them in aluminum, continues Minimalism’s investigation into the means of production and art. Moreover, the aluminum mount is only a suggestion of installation and can be installed in any configuration. Kuwayama elevates strict geometric shape and pure color into quiet reflection and deep meditation of space and time.

Since the 1960s, Post-minimalist and even contemporary artists have re-examined Minimalism and focused on the tensions between social and art historical context. Richard Tuttle’s poetic sculpture, “Untitled (Cloth and Paint Work #2)” still has the power to shock – simple rope, cloth, and paint becomes a moment of lyrical meditation that interrupts how we move through and perceive the world. A small gesture of soft textile subverts the association of monumental and masculine metal and stone with sculpture or even artistic genius. Likewise, both “Convex, Concave” by Theaster Gates and “Big Grid/Solo Tear” by Sterling Ruby reconceives minimalism as a means to analyze social and cultural issues while also upending the fascination with mechanical production by earlier minimalists like Judd or even Kuwayama.

In all of the works in the exhibition, the artist either transforms or actively pursues austerity into works of intense splendid meaning. Opulence is not just material abundance but also emotional, philosophical, and poetic abundance. Other artists in the exhibition include Francis Celentano, Gene Davis, Tony de los Reyes, Ellsworth Kelly, Jannis Kounellis, Yayoi Kusama, Tadasky Kuwayama, Robert Motherwell, Kenneth Noland, Peter Young, and Norman Zammitt.