• shrem-install3
  • shrem-install1
  • shrem-install6
  • shrem-install5
  • 呼叫中心-安装4
  • shrem-install2

感官的雕塑。户外雕塑

2021年8月4日-2023年2月28日
棕榈沙漠,加利福尼亚州

关于

 

Heather James Fine Art推出了一个虚拟展览,汇集了重要的雕塑家和他们的作品,涵盖了一系列的主题、流派和风格。这些作品愉悦了我们的感官,从古典的五种感官,也包括我们的幽默感、愉悦感、兴奋感等等。

有安迪-戈德斯沃西的亲密作品。戈德斯沃西是英国的土地艺术家,以使用自然环境中的材料来创造触及时间、自然和我们与它的关系的美丽作品而闻名。这幅作品包含了他作品的所有特点,他让作品在外面老化,时间的流逝在其表面留下痕迹。他将石头的自然表面与雕刻的中心并列,允许一个沉思的区域。他的作品不是大型作品,而是充满诗意的小姿态。

在戈尔德沃西的温暖和安静的另一面,是福里斯特-迈尔斯和不重要的作品。迈尔斯是一位美国雕塑家,以推动雕塑和家具的概念而闻名。他正在 "寻找完美的椅子"。标题 "庞贝 "暗示了一件罗马家具的灵感。但这个标题主要是以幽默的方式提醒人们,罗马生活的富丽堂皇和古典主义,现在被描绘成一个充满漏洞的钢丝座椅。幽默常常被有效地用于艺术,而在《庞贝》中,迈尔斯玩弄了我们对艺术和设计的看法。

作为展览中最大的作品,Not Vital的作品体现了他的SCARCH概念--将雕塑和建筑结合起来,创造出一种沉浸式的令人敬畏的体验,提供另一种视角。"Tongue "是对牛舌的具体指称,对艺术家来说,这是一个令人着迷和难忘的主题,因为他曾经被动物舔过,他把这描述为一种陌生和震惊的经历。高度抛光的不锈钢表面反映了它周围的环境,将雕塑吸收到它周围的视野中,不管那是在哪里。

米莫-巴拉迪诺的雕塑在范围上即使不大,也不小,他的雕塑融合了神话、神秘主义、古埃及和现代艺术。这件作品将一个神秘的人物和一个方尖碑结合起来,创造了一个象征主义的结构。巴拉迪诺是意大利新表现主义艺术运动traansavanguardia的一部分,该运动将艺术表现和情感回归到艺术中。

展览结束时,最具有美感的作品之一是马克-奎恩的兰花雕塑。奎因是YBA或英国青年艺术家的一员。他们以对材料和工艺的震撼性使用而闻名,他的YBA同伴包括达米安-赫斯特、特蕾西-艾明和莎拉-卢卡斯。奎因在使用花卉方面遵循了艺术史的脉络。在17世纪的荷兰静物画作品中,鲜花作为死亡的象征,提醒着死亡的不可避免性和我们短暂的存在。奎因在创作兰花时就利用了这一点。兰花给人一种异国情调的美感,作为一个雕塑,它完美地绽放着,我们能够思考生命和死亡。

这些雕塑开启了不同的生命奇迹,在玩弄和引诱我们的感官时,给我们一个不同的视角。

艺术品

• shrem-install3
  • shrem-install1
  • shrem-install6
  • shrem-install5
  • shrem-install4
  • shrem-install2

Sculpture for the Senses: Outdoor Sculpture

August 4 - December 31, 2021
Palm Desert, CA

Artwork

About

 

Heather James Fine Art presents a virtual exhibition bringing together important sculptors and their works, covering a range of subjects, genres, and styles. These works delight our senses, from the five classical senses but also our sense of humor, of pleasure, of excitement, and more.

There is the intimate work of Andy Goldsworthy. Goldsworthy is a British land artist, known known for using materials from the natural environment to create beautiful works that touch on time, nature, and our relationship to it. This piece contains all the hallmarks of his work as he allows the piece to age outside, the passage of time marked on its surface. He juxtaposes the natural surface of the stone with the carved center allowing for an area of contemplation. Rather than working large, his works are small gestures filled with poetic intent.

On the flipside to the warmth and quietness of Goldsworthy, there are the works by Forrest Myers and Not Vital. Meyers is an American sculptor known for pushing the concept of both sculpture and furniture. He is on a “search for the perfect chair”. The title “Pompeii” implies the inspiration of a piece of Roman furniture. But the title is mostly a tongue-in-cheek reminder of the opulence and classicism of Roman life, now depicted in a wire seat full of holes. Humor is often effectively used in art, and with Pompeii, Myers plays with our perception of art & design.

The largest work in the show, Not Vital’s piece embodies his concept of SCARCH – a combination of sculpture and architecture that creates an immersive awe-inspiring experience offering alternative perspectives. “Tongue” is a specific reference to a cow tongue, a fascinating and memorable subject for the artist, as he was once licked by the animal, which he described as an alien and shocking experience. The highly polished stainless steel finish reflects the environment around it, absorbing the sculpture into its surrounding vista, wherever that may be.

No less monumental in scope if not size, Mimmo Paladino’s sculpture blends mythology, mysticism, ancient Egypt, and Modern art. This piece combines an enigmatic figure with an obelisk, creating a structure of symbolism. Paladino was part of the traansavanguardia movement, the Italian Neo-Expressionist art movement, that returned artistic expression and emotion to art.

Closing out the exhibition is one of the most aesthetically beautiful works is an orchid sculpture by Marc Quinn. Quinn was part of the YBA or Young British Artists. They were known for their shocking use of materials and processes and his fellow YBAs included Damien Hirst, Tracey Emin and Sarah Lucas. Quinn follows the art historical lineage in his use of flowers. In the work of Dutch still lifes from the 17th century, flowers acted as momento mori, symbolic reminders of the inevitability of death and our brief existence. Quinn plays upon this in recreating an orchid. The orchid gives an air of exotic beauty and suspended in a perfect bloom as a sculpture we are able to contemplate life and death.

These sculptures open up different wonders of life, giving us a different perspective as they play and entice our senses.

Artists