• cool-school-install6
    Installation de l'exposition "Cool School
  • cool-school-install9-rev
    Installation de l'exposition "Cool School
  • cool-school-install8-rev
    Installation de l'exposition "Cool School
  • cool-school-install7-rev
    Installation de l'exposition "Cool School

L'école cool

30 mars 2020 - 31 décembre 2021
Palm Desert, CA

environ

Heather James Fine Art présente une exposition exclusive en ligne consacrée aux artistes associés à la Ferus Gallery, la légendaire galerie d'art de Los Angeles qui a fonctionné de 1957 à 1966. L'exposition puise dans notre vaste collection pour présenter Charles Arnoldi, Larry Bell, Billy Al Bengston, Ed Moses et Ed Ruscha.

Fondée par le conservateur Walter Hopps, l'artiste Edward Kienholz et le poète Bob Alexander, la galerie a exposé des artistes majeurs de la côte ouest et de la côte est. Ils ont été la première galerie de la côte ouest à exposer les boîtes de soupe Campbell's, l'icône d'Andy Warhol. Sous la direction d'Irving Blum, Ferus a nourri et promu des mouvements artistiques propres à la côte ouest et à la Californie, notamment Finish Fetish et Light and Space.

Cette exposition rassemble des artistes associés à la vague d'art d'avant-garde du sud de la Californie, centrée autour de Ferus. Ces artistes ont façonné non seulement la scène artistique de la côte ouest mais aussi l'histoire de l'art en général, apportant une sensibilité particulière à la Californie du Sud. Marqué par la camaraderie créative, ce groupe d'artistes de la "Cool School" a changé notre perception de l'art.

Larry Bell et le mouvement Light and Space nous ont fait prendre conscience de l'interaction entre la matérialité et la perception. Ed Moses et Billy Al Bengston ont repoussé les limites de l'art abstrait, qu'il s'agisse de Moses et de son utilisation de l'assemblage et du hasard ou du mélange de références masculines et féminines de Bengston. Ed Ruscha a donné une tournure californienne au Pop Art. Et, bien que n'étant pas formellement dans le groupe, Charles Arnoldi était un ami proche de Moïse, et le mélange de couleur, d'abstraction, de matérialité et d'assemblage d'Arnoldi se fond avec ces artistes.

Cool dans l'esprit et cool dans le style, ces artistes incarnent l'importance de la Californie du Sud dans l'histoire de l'art.

original

• cool-school-install6
    Cool School exhibition installation
  • cool-school-install9-rev
    Cool School exhibition installation
  • cool-school-install8-rev
    Cool School exhibition installation
  • cool-school-install7-rev
    Cool School exhibition installation

The Cool School

March 30 - October 31, 2020
Palm Desert, CA

Artwork

About

Heather James Fine Art presents an online exclusive exhibition focusing on artists associated with the Ferus Gallery, the legendary Los Angeles art gallery that ran from 1957-1966. The exhibition pulls from our extensive collection to showcase Charles Arnoldi, Larry Bell, Billy Al Bengston, Ed Moses, and Ed Ruscha.

Founded by curator Walter Hopps, artist Edward Kienholz, and poet Bob Alexander, the gallery exhibited major artists of both the West and East Coast. They were the first gallery on the West Coast to exhibit Andy Warhol’s iconic Campbell’s soup cans. Under director Irving Blum, Ferus nurtured and promoted art movements unique to the West Coast and California including Finish Fetish and Light and Space.

This exhibition brings together artists associated with the wave of avant-garde art in southern California centered around Ferus. These artists shaped not just the art scene on the West Coast but art history in general bringing a distinctive Southern California sensibility. Marked by creative camaraderie, this “Cool School” group of artists changed our perceptions of art.

Larry Bell and the Light and Space movement made us take note of the interaction of materiality and perception. Ed Moses and Billy Al Bengston pushed the boundaries of abstract art whether it was Moses and his use of assemblage and chance or Bengston’s mix of masculine and feminine references. Ed Ruscha put a California spin to Pop Art. And, although not formally in the group, Charles Arnoldi was a close friend of Moses, and Arnoldi’s blend of color, abstraction, materiality and assemblage melds with these artists.

Cool in spirit and cool in style, these artists epitomize the importance of Southern California in art history.

Artists