• الأرض والجسم تثبيت1
    الأرض والجسم معرض تركيب
  • الأرض والجسم تثبيت2
    الأرض والجسم معرض تركيب
  • الأرض والجسم تثبيت3
    الأرض والجسم معرض تركيب
  • الأرض والجسم تثبيت4
    الأرض والجسم معرض تركيب
  • الأرض والجسم تثبيت5
    الأرض والجسم معرض تركيب
  • الأرض والجسم تثبيت6
    الأرض والجسم معرض تركيب
  • الأرض والجسم تثبيت7
    الأرض والجسم معرض تركيب
  • الأرض والجسم تثبيت8
    الأرض والجسم معرض تركيب
  • الأرض والجسم تثبيت9
    الأرض والجسم معرض تركيب

الأرض والجسم

13 مارس 2020 - 31 ديسمبر 2021
مونتيسيتو ، كاليفورنيا

عن

 

هيذر جيمس يقدم معرضا يؤرخ كيف متنوعة الفنانين والمصورين تخيل الأرض والجسم. في التجاور بين الموضوعين ، نرى كيف يصبح المشهد استعارة لجسم الإنسان والجسم للمناظر الطبيعية. التفكير في عدد المرات التي تخلط اللغة أيضا الجسم والأرض. هذا التشابك يفسح المجال لأسئلة هامة مثل كيف نقترب من الجسم أو ننظر إليه؟ منظر طبيعي؟ كيف يكون الجسد وعاء مجازي؟ كيف هي الأرض قماش على التي يمكننا أن المشروع رغباتنا؟ ماذا يعني أن يكون هناك تشابه في المقاربات بين الفنانين تجاه الأرض والجسد؟

تأتي غالبية الأعمال في المعرض من مجموعة خاصة بارزة. يلتقط المعرض خيوط الفضول هذه والخصوصيات التي تأتي بشكل طبيعي عند الجمع ، مما يعكس شخصية جامع ورؤيتهم الكامنة.

مثل الجمع بين موضوع الجسم والمناظر الطبيعية ، وهذا المعرض الحصري على الانترنت هو فرصة لزوج في العديد من التكرارات مختلف الفنانين لإلقاء الضوء على الأسئلة الهامة والقضايا التي تثيرها. لويز بورجوا بجانب جيف كونز بجانب آني ليبوفيتز. هيلموت نيوتن بجانب سيندي شيرمان بجانب جون ستيزاكر. مارين هوغونييه بجانب هنتر س. طومسون بجوار تسينغ كيونغ تشي.

ومن بين الفنانين:

سيندي شيرمان تحول جسدها الخاص ، ودفع فهمنا للتصوير الفوتوغرافي ، والهوية ، والبورتريه. في النهاية ، ربما كان السؤال الأكثر عمقا لطرح والتفكير عندما تواجه صور شيرمان هو ، "من هي؟".

هيلموت نيوتن هو واحد من أهم مصوري الأزياء في القرن العشرين. كانت تصويره الحسي ة للجسد الأنثوي ركائز أساسية للمجلات بما في ذلك مجلة Vogue وغيرت مفرداتنا البصرية في فهم الموضة والأنوثة.

صورة مارين هوغونييه الجميلة بشكل مذهل لجبل تكذب الخطر والجهد الذي استغرقه التقاط الصورة. من فيلمها "أريانا" الصورة من وادي بانجشير في أفغانستان. الصورة يلعب مع توقعاتنا في نمطنا الجغرافية الوطنية تقريبا في حين أيضا بمهارة نقد دينامية السلطة بين المصور وتصويرها، والسلطة والموضوع.

ومن المعروف هيروشي Sugimoto لصوره التركيز المناظر الطبيعية كوسيلة للتأمل في الميتافيزيقيا -- الزمان والمكان والهوية. "في مدح الظلال" يأتي من سلسلة التقاط حياة لهب شمعة قبل أن يخرج أخيرا.

آني Leibovitz ، الشهير لصور لها ، وقد استولت في هذه الصورة من راقصة يونيو أومورا من مجموعة مارك موريس الرقص كل من السمات المميزة لها -- حساسية لموضوعها ، وفهم المصورين في وقت مبكر مثل هنري كارتييه بريسون ، فضلا عن تاريخ الفن كما يقترح جسم أومورا لوحات القرن التاسع عشر من odalisques. عملت ليبوفيتز جنبا إلى جنب مع المصور الصحفي المهم هنتر س. طومسون، كما هو مبين في هذا المعرض.

Tseng Kwong تشي ، مثل شيرمان ، ويخلق صور ذاتية مرحلية. جسده بين المناظر الطبيعية الخلابة يطلب منا النظر في قضايا الهوية وسياسة المشاهدة. وأشار إلى نفسه على أنه "المسافر الفضولي"، ويواجهنا بتصورات عن القوالب النمطية الغربية والشرقية. مثل هوغونييه، تدفعنا صوره إلى النظر في أي مرحلة يصبح المرء سائحاً، الذي يعتبر "كل رجل"، والذي تعطى الأولوية لآرائه؟

الصور الأخرى التي خلطت الجسم والمناظر الطبيعية هي أعمال أنتوني غورملي وإيزيزي كاورو. وقد صورت غورملي، المعروف ة بتركيزه المفرد على جسم الإنسان عن طريق منحوتاته، بصمة جسم في الثلج. صورة كورو، مع عنوانها مغرية، ويبدو أن تصوير الأزياء في حين أنه في الواقع، فإنه يحجب كل من شيء أكثر غدرا وأكثر سموا.

كما شارك في المعرض كارلوس بيتانكورت، تاتيانا بوتون، لويز بورجوا، ديفيد داوسون، ريتشارد ديكون، جيف كونز، باربرا كروغر، أليكس ماكلين، كلير ريتشاردسون، شون سكولي، جون ستيزاكر، هنتر س. طومسون، وزانغ هوان.

العمل الفني

تسنغ كوونغ تشي
أليكس ماكلين
هلموت نيوتن
لورنس شيلر
جون ستيزكر

• land-and-body-install1
    The Land and the Body exhibition installation
  • land-and-body-install2
    The Land and the Body exhibition installation
  • land-and-body-install3
    The Land and the Body exhibition installation
  • land-and-body-install4
    The Land and the Body exhibition installation
  • land-and-body-install5
    The Land and the Body exhibition installation
  • land-and-body-install6
    The Land and the Body exhibition installation
  • land-and-body-install7
    The Land and the Body exhibition installation
  • land-and-body-install8
    The Land and the Body exhibition installation
  • land-and-body-install9
    The Land and the Body exhibition installation

The Land and the Body

March 13 - September 30, 2020
Montecito, CA

Artwork

About

 

Heather James presents an exhibition chronicling how diverse artists and photographers imagine the land and the body. In juxtaposing the two subjects, we see how a landscape becomes a metaphor for the human body and the body for landscape. Think of how often language also conflates the body and the land. This intertwining makes way for important questions such as how do we approach or view the body? A landscape? How is the body a metaphorical vessel? How is the land a canvas onto which we can project our desires? What does it mean for there to be similarities in approaches among the artists towards the land and body?

The majority of works in the exhibition come from a prominent, private collection. The exhibition picks up on these threads of curiosity and the idiosyncrasies that come naturally when collecting, reflecting the personality of the collector and their latent vision.

Like pairing the subject of the body and of landscapes, this online exclusive exhibition is an opportunity to pair in numerous iterations different artists to illuminate important questions and issues they raise. Louise Bourgeois next to Jeff Koons next to Annie Leibovitz. Helmut Newton next to Cindy Sherman next to John Stezaker. Marinne Hugonnier next to Hunter S. Thompson next to Tseng Kowng Chi.

Artists include:

Cindy Sherman transforms her own body, pushing our understanding of photography, identity, and portraiture. In the end, perhaps the most profound question to ask and to contemplate when confronted with Sherman’s photographs is, “Who is she?”.

Helmut Newton is one of the most important fashion photographers of the 20th century. His sensual depictions of the female body were mainstays of magazines including Vogue and altered our visual vocabulary in understanding fashion and femininity.

Marine Hugonnier’s stunningly beautiful image of a mountain belies the danger and effort it took to take the photo. From her film “Ariana” the image is from the Panjsher Valley in Afghanistan. The photo plays with our expectation in its almost National Geographic style while also subtly critiquing the power dynamic between photographer and photographed, authority and subject.

Hiroshi Sugimoto is most known for his photographs focusing landscapes as a means to meditate on the metaphysical – time, space, identity. “In Praise of Shadows” comes from a series capturing the life of a candle flame before it finally goes out.

Annie Leibovitz, famed for her portraits, has captured in this image of the dancer June Omura from the Mark Morris Dance Group all of her hallmarks – sensitivity to her subject, an understanding of early photographers like Henri Cartier-Bresson, as well as art history as Omura’s body suggests 19th century paintings of odalisques. Leibovitz worked alongside important photojournalist Hunter S. Thompson, also shown in this exhibition.

Tseng Kwong Chi, like Sherman, creates staged self-portraits. His body amongst a scenic landscape asks us to consider issues of identity and the politics of viewing. He referred to himself as “the inquisitive traveller”, confronting us with perceptions of Western and Eastern stereotypes. Like Hugonnier, his images push us to consider at what point does one become a tourist, who is considered “an everyman”, and whose views are prioritized?

Other photographs that meld the body and the landscape are works by Antony Gormley and Izimi Kaoru. Gormley, known for his singular focus on the human body via his sculptures, has photographed a bodyprint in snow. Kaoru’s photograph, with its alluring title, appears to be a fashion photoshoot when in reality, it obscures both something more insidious and more transcendent.

Also included in the exhibition are Carlos Betancourt, Tatiana Botton, Louise Bourgeois, David Dawson, Richard Deacon, Jeff Koons, Barbara Kruger, Alex Maclean, Clare Richardson, Sean Scully, John Stezaker, Hunter S. Thompson, and Zhang Huan.

Artists