Précédent

N.C. WYETH (1882-1945)

 
N.C. WYETH - L'arrivée du Mayflower en 1620 - huile sur toile - 104 1/2 x 158 3/4 in. N.C. WYETH - L'arrivée du Mayflower en 1620 - huile sur toile - 104 1/2 x 158 3/4 in. N.C. WYETH - L'arrivée du Mayflower en 1620 - huile sur toile - 104 1/2 x 158 3/4 in. N.C. WYETH - L'arrivée du Mayflower en 1620 - huile sur toile - 104 1/2 x 158 3/4 in. N.C. WYETH - L'arrivée du Mayflower en 1620 - huile sur toile - 104 1/2 x 158 3/4 in. N.C. WYETH - L'arrivée du Mayflower en 1620 - huile sur toile - 104 1/2 x 158 3/4 in. N.C. WYETH - L'arrivée du Mayflower en 1620 - huile sur toile - 104 1/2 x 158 3/4 in. N.C. WYETH - L'arrivée du Mayflower en 1620 - huile sur toile - 104 1/2 x 158 3/4 in. N.C. WYETH - L'arrivée du Mayflower en 1620 - huile sur toile - 104 1/2 x 158 3/4 in. N.C. WYETH - L'arrivée du Mayflower en 1620 - huile sur toile - 104 1/2 x 158 3/4 in.
L'arrivée du Mayflower en 16201941104 1/2 x 158 3/4 in.(265,43 x 403,23 cm) huile sur toile
Provenance
MetLife, Inc. Collection d'entreprise (commandée pour les bureaux de New York)
Heather James Fine Art, New York
Exposition
New York, NY, 1985, n° 13, "L'arrivée du Mayflower".
Littérature
"The Days of the Pilgrims Live Again in Our Murals ", The Home Office (publication de la Metropolitan Life Insurance Co.), vol. 23, no 7 (déc. 1941).
N. C. Wyeth, Income Tax Notes for 1941 (non publié, Brandywine River Museum Library)
Douglas Allen et Douglas Allen, Jr, N. C. Wyeth, The Collected Paintings, Illustrations and Murals (New York : Crown Publishers, 1972),
...Plus..... ps. 169-172, illus. n/b p. 169
Robert San Souci, N. C. Wyeth's Pilgrims (San Francisco, CA : Chronicle Books, 1991), détail illustré. Sur le frontispice
Christine B. Podmaniczky, N. C. Wyeth, A Catalogue Raisonné of Paintings (Londres : Scala, 2008), M.67, p. 629
...MOINS.....
demander

"J'espère que le temps ne viendra jamais où je me sentirai satisfait. Atteindre le but de ses ambitions doit être tragique." - N.C. Wyeth

A propos de l'arrivée du Mayflower en 1620

  • Composition Dessin

    Dessin de composition de N.C. Wyeth pour la fresque du Metropolitan Life "The Coming of the Mayflower" (1940/1941).
  • Exposé dans notre galerie

    Exposé dans notre galerie

    "The Coming of the Mayflower in 1620" (1941) exposé dans notre galerie à Palm Desert, Californie.

Les extraordinaires compétences de N.C. Wyethen tant qu'illustrateur sont le fruit d'un dessin impeccable et, en tant que peintre, de son sens chaleureux et harmonieux de la couleur et de sa capacité à capturer la qualité de la lumière elle-même. Mais c'est son art inégalé de vivifier l'histoire et les personnages avec un puissant sens de l'ambiance que nous admirons par-dessus tout - la capacité de se transporter dans le monde et l'époque de sa création et de la transmettre avec un sens de la conviction envoûtant. Cette capacité est aussi évidente dans la complexité de la composition de "One More Step, Mr. Hands !" deL'Île au trésor qu'elle l'est ici, dans le récit sommaire d'un navire marchand du XVIIe siècle, au gréement carré, ballotté sur les mers. L'arrivée du Mayflower en 1620 est un simple exposé de faits observables, mais le génie impeccable de Wyeth en tant qu'illustrateur l'imprègne de l'air salin vivifiant et du goût qui saisit l'esprit d'aventure des hommes et des femmes auxquels on attribue en grande partie la fondation de l'Amérique. Cet esprit est porté par le vent et les voiles tendues, la gîte joviale du navire au nez d'un coup de vent violent, les nuages poussés et limités par des filets, et les mouettes disposées de façon joviale pour célébrer l'arrivée du navire comme si elles étaient les anges de la providence le guidant vers un port sûr.

L'arrivée du Mayflower en 1620 était basée sur deux études, un dessin de composition au graphite et une petite peinture de présentation. La peinture murale terminée semble avoir été installée en 1941.

"Il était naturel que dans mon esprit et dans mon cœur, Plymouth et les Pèlerins soient un sujet approprié pour une série de peintures de la Nouvelle-Angleterre. Si la chaleur et l'attrait de ces peintures sont évidents pour ceux qui les étudient, c'est principalement parce qu'elles sont, d'une certaine manière, une déclaration de ma propre vie et de mon héritage." - N.C. Wyeth

Histoire

Avant la télévision et à une époque où le cinéma en était encore à ses balbutiements, les illustrations de N. C. Wyethélectrisaient les histoires qu'il façonnait et annotait visuellement. En tant que jeune lecteur de "L'île au trésor", qui peut nier l'urgence de lire la prochaine illustration sur papier glacé ? Ou, dans un élan d'excitation, de feuilleter les pages à plusieurs reprises pour découvrir les images à venir, si vivantes et si pleines de bravoure ?  

En 1939, la Metropolitan Life Company propose à Wyeth une commande d'un genre différent : une série de peintures murales sur toile qui reposent moins sur la bravade, peut-être, mais plutôt sur un sens profond du temps et du lieu. Elles offriraient une vision énergique et grandiose et exprimeraient l'esprit de la fierté nationale en célébrant les valeurs fortes qui expriment ce que signifie être américain. Wyeth était ravi. Les quatorze panneaux muraux qu'il accepta de réaliser donneraient vie au monde des pèlerins et "serviraient d'expression graphique et dramatique de l'esprit de la Nouvelle-Angleterre" (Douglas Allen, et al., N. C. Wyeth : The Collected Paintings, Illustrations, and Murals, pg . 169). Wyeth, artiste d'une habileté inégalée et pleinement investi dans l'authenticité des personnages qui peuplent ses récits, a savouré l'occasion de transmettre la fierté qu'il ressentait envers son passé ancestral.

"La romance des débuts de la colonisation, en particulier celle des Pèlerins du Massachusetts, m'a toujours passionné. Mon ancêtre, Nicholas Wyeth, est venu du Pays de Galles au Massachusetts en 1647. L'esprit des premiers jours sur la côte du Massachusetts était un sujet souvent discuté à la maison. Je suis né à Needham, non loin de la ville de Plymouth, où j'ai fait de nombreux pèlerinages durant mon enfance, passant des journées passionnantes dans ce territoire historique et ses environs. Avec ce contexte, il était naturel que mon esprit et mon cœur s'envolent vers Plymouth et les Pèlerins comme sujet approprié pour une série de peintures de la Nouvelle-Angleterre. Si la chaleur et l'attrait de ces peintures sont évidents pour ceux qui les étudient, c'est principalement parce qu'elles sont, d'une certaine manière, une déclaration de ma propre vie et de mon héritage". (Douglas Allen, et al., N. C. Wyeth : The Collected Paintings, Illustrations and Murals, pg. 171)

plus de
"Elever le petit au grand, c'est ça le génie." - N.C. Wyeth

LES CONNAISSANCES DU MARCHÉ

  • NC Wyeth AMR
  • Le graphique préparé par Art Market Research montre que depuis 1976, les peintures de N.C. Wyeth ont augmenté à un taux de rendement annuel de 13,4 %.
  • Le graphique du marché montre une croissance importante depuis 2010 et une forte augmentation jusqu'en 2020. 
  • Le prix record pour N.C. Wyeth aux enchères a été établi en 2018 lorsque Portrait of a Farmer, une peinture plus petite de 1943, a été vendue pour près de 6M$. Aucune peinture de N.C. Wyeth à cette échelle monumentale n'est apparue aux enchères.

Les meilleurs résultats pour N.C. Wyeth aux enchères

Tempera sur panneau Renaissance, 40 x 60 in. Vendu chez Sotheby's New York : 23 mai 2018.

"Portrait of a Farmer (Pennsylvania Farmer)" (1943) vendu pour 5 985 900 USD.

Tempera sur panneau Renaissance, 40 x 60 in. Vendu chez Sotheby's New York : 23 mai 2018.
Huile sur toile, 43 x 30 in. Vendu chez Christie's New York : 22 novembre 2016.

"Hands Up" (1906) a été vendu pour 4 951 500 USD.

Huile sur toile, 43 x 30 in. Vendu chez Christie's New York : 22 novembre 2016.
Huile sur toile, 46 x 69 1/4 in. Vendu chez Christie's New York : 28 octobre 2020.

"Indian Love Call" (1927) a été vendu pour 3 510 000 USD.

Huile sur toile, 46 x 69 1/4 in. Vendu chez Christie's New York : 28 octobre 2020.

Peintures de N.C. Wyeth dans les collections des musées

Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York

"The Lobsterman (The Doryman)" (1944), tempera à l'œuf sur bois, 23 1/4 x 47 1/4 in.

Musée d'art de Philadelphie, Pennsylvanie

"L'épreuve de l'arc" (1929), huile sur toile, 58 × 45 3/4 × 2 1/4 in.

Musée d'art de la rivière Brandywine, Chadds Ford, Pennsylvanie

"Island Funeral" (1939), tempera à l'œuf et huile sur panneau dur, 44 1/2 x 52 3/8 in.

Musée Peabody Essex, Salem, Massachusetts

"They Took Their Wives with Them on their Cruises" (c. 1938), huile sur carton, 34 x 24 in.

Musée Gilcrease, Tulsa, Oklahoma

"L'enterrement dans l'eau" (1906), huile sur toile, 24 x 38 in.
"Elever le petit au grand, c'est ça le génie." - N.C. Wyeth

Galerie d'images

Ressources supplémentaires

"Mon père" par Andrew Wyeth

Lisez cette biographie de N.C. Wyeth écrite par Andrew Wyeth, célèbre peintre et fils de N.C. Wyeth.

La maison et le studio de N.C. Wyeth

Visitez virtuellement la maison et le studio de l'artiste à Chadds Ford, en Pennsylvanie, grâce à cette vidéo du Brandywine River Museum of Art.

Composition Dessin

Voir le dessin de composition de cette peinture, "L'arrivée du Mayflower en 1620" (1941).

demander

Demande de renseignements - Art Single

Autres œuvres de N.C. Wyeth

Vous pouvez également aimer

Back

N.C. WYETH (1882-1945)

 
N.C. WYETH - The Coming of the Mayflower in 1620 - oil on canvas - 104 1/2 x 158 3/4 in. N.C. WYETH - The Coming of the Mayflower in 1620 - oil on canvas - 104 1/2 x 158 3/4 in. N.C. WYETH - The Coming of the Mayflower in 1620 - oil on canvas - 104 1/2 x 158 3/4 in. N.C. WYETH - The Coming of the Mayflower in 1620 - oil on canvas - 104 1/2 x 158 3/4 in. N.C. WYETH - The Coming of the Mayflower in 1620 - oil on canvas - 104 1/2 x 158 3/4 in. N.C. WYETH - The Coming of the Mayflower in 1620 - oil on canvas - 104 1/2 x 158 3/4 in. N.C. WYETH - The Coming of the Mayflower in 1620 - oil on canvas - 104 1/2 x 158 3/4 in. N.C. WYETH - The Coming of the Mayflower in 1620 - oil on canvas - 104 1/2 x 158 3/4 in. N.C. WYETH - The Coming of the Mayflower in 1620 - oil on canvas - 104 1/2 x 158 3/4 in. N.C. WYETH - The Coming of the Mayflower in 1620 - oil on canvas - 104 1/2 x 158 3/4 in.
The Coming of the Mayflower in 16201941104 1/2 x 158 3/4 in.(265.43 x 403.23 cm) oil on canvas
Provenance
MetLife, Inc. Corporate Collection (Commissioned for New York offices)
Heather James Fine Art, New York
Exhibition
New York, NY, 1985, no. 13, "Coming of the Mayflower"
Literature
"The Days of the Pilgrims Live Again in Our Murals," The Home Office (publication of Metropolitan Life Insurance Co.), vol. 23. no. 7 (Dec. 1941)
N. C. Wyeth, Income Tax Notes for 1941 (unpublished, Brandywine River Museum Library)
 Douglas Allen and Douglas Allen, Jr., N. C. Wyeth, The Collected Paintings, Illustrations and Murals (New York: Crown Publishers, 1972),
...More... ps. 169-172, illus. b/w p. 169
Robert San Souci, N. C. Wyeth's Pilgrims (San Francisco, CA: Chronicle Books, 1991), detail illus. On frontispiece
Christine B. Podmaniczky, N. C. Wyeth, A Catalogue Raisonné of Paintings (London: Scala, 2008), M.67, p. 629
...LESS...
Inquire

“I hope the time will never come when I shall feel satisfied. To reach the goal of one’s ambitions must be tragic.” – N.C. Wyeth

About The Coming of the Mayflower in 1620

  • Composition Drawing

    N.C. Wyeth’s composition drawing for the Metropolitan Life mural “The Coming of the Mayflower” (1940/1941).
  • On view in Our Gallery

    On view in Our Gallery

    “The Coming of the Mayflower in 1620” (1941) on view in our gallery in Palm Desert, California.

N.C. Wyeth’s extraordinary skills as an illustrator were borne of impeccable draftsmanship and as a painter, his warmly rich, harmonious sense of color, and ability to capture the quality of light itself. But it is his unmatched artistry in vivifying story and character with a powerful sense of mood that we admire most of all — the ability to transport himself to the world and time of his creation and to convey it with a beguiling sense of conviction. That ability is as apparent in the compositional complexities of Treasure Island’s “One More Step, Mr. Hands!” as it is here, in the summary account of a square-rigged, seventeenth-century merchant ship tossed upon the seas. The Coming of the Mayflower in 1620 is a simple statement of observable facts, yet Wyeth’s impeccable genius as an illustrator imbues it with the bracing salt air and taste that captures the adventuresome spirit of the men and women who are largely credited with the founding of America. That spirit is carried on the wind and tautly billowed sails, the jaunty heeling of the ship at the nose of a stiff gale, the thrusting, streamed-limned clouds, and the gulls jauntily arranged to celebrate an arrival as they are the feathered angels of providence guiding it to safe harbor.

The Coming of the Mayflower in 1620 was based on two studies, a composition drawing in graphite and a small presentation painting. The finished mural appears to have been installed in 1941.

“It was natural that in my mind and heart should fly to Plymouth and to the Pilgrims as a fitting subject for a series of New England paintings. If then, the warmth and appeal of these paintings is apparent to those who study them, it is principally because they are, in some related way, a statement of my own life and heritage.” – N.C. Wyeth

History

Before there was television and of a time when film was still in its infancy, N. C. Wyeth’s illustrations electrified the stories he visually shaped and annotated. As a young reader of “Treasure Island,” who can deny the urgency to read on to the next glossy illustration? Or, in excited anticipation, thumb through the pages repeatedly to the pictures ahead, so alive and vivid and full of bravado?  

In 1939, The Metropolitan Life Company offered Wyeth a commission of a different sort; a series of canvas murals that would rely less on bravado, perhaps, but instead, on a deep sense of time and place. They would offer an energetic and grand vision and express the spirit of national pride by celebrating the strong values that express what it means to be American. Wyeth was thrilled. The fourteen mural panels he agreed to produce would bring the world of Pilgrims to glowing life and “serve as a graphic and dramatic expression of the spirit of New England” (Douglas Allen, et al., N. C. Wyeth: The Collected Paintings, Illustrations, and Murals, pg. 169).  Wyeth, an artist of unparalleled skill and fully invested in the authenticity of the characters that populate his narratives, relished the opportunity to convey the pride he felt toward his ancestral past.

“The romance of early colonization, especially that of the Pilgrims in Massachusetts, had always excited me. My ancestor, Nicholas Wyeth, came from Wales to Massachusetts in 1647. The spirit of early days on the Massachusetts coast was an oft-discussed subject in my home. I was born in Needham, not far from the town of Plymouth, to which I made many pilgrimages during my boyhood, spending thrilling days in and around that historic territory. With this as a background, it was natural that in my mind and heart should fly to Plymouth and to the Pilgrims as a fitting subject for a series of New England paintings. If then, the warmth and appeal of these paintings is apparent to those who study them, it is principally because they are, in some related way, a statement of my own life and heritage.” (Douglas Allen, et al., N. C. Wyeth: The Collected Paintings, Illustrations and Murals, pg. 171)

More
“To elevate the little into the great is genius.” – N.C. Wyeth

MARKET INSIGHTS

  • NC Wyeth AMR
  • The graph prepared by Art Market Research shows that since 1976, paintings by N.C. Wyeth have increased at a 13.4% annual rate of return.
  • The market graph shows significant growth since 2010 and a sharp increase as recently as 2020. 
  • The record price for N.C. Wyeth at auction was set in 2018 when Portrait of a Farmer, a smaller painting from 1943, sold for nearly $6M. No N.C. Wyeth paintings on this monumental scale have appeared at auction.

Top Results for N.C. Wyeth at Auction

Tempera on Renaissance panel, 40 x 60 in. Sold at Sotheby’s New York: 23 May 2018.

"Portrait of a Farmer (Pennsylvania Farmer)" (1943) sold for $5,985,900 USD.

Tempera on Renaissance panel, 40 x 60 in. Sold at Sotheby’s New York: 23 May 2018.
Oil on canvas, 43 x 30 in. Sold at Christie’s New York: 22 November 2016.

"Hands Up" (1906) sold for $4,951,500 USD.

Oil on canvas, 43 x 30 in. Sold at Christie’s New York: 22 November 2016.
Oil on canvas, 46 x 69 1/4 in. Sold at Christie’s New York: 28 October 2020.

"Indian Love Call" (1927) sold for $3,510,000 USD.

Oil on canvas, 46 x 69 1/4 in. Sold at Christie’s New York: 28 October 2020.

N.C. Wyeth Paintings in Museum Collections

Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York

“The Lobsterman (The Doryman)” (1944), egg tempera on wood, 23 1/4 x 47 1/4 in.

Philadelphia Museum of Art, Pennsylvania

“The Trial of the Bow” (1929), oil on canvas, 58 × 45 3/4 × 2 1/4 in.

Brandywine River Museum of Art, Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania

“Island Funeral” (1939), egg tempera and oil on hardboard, 44 1/2 x 52 3/8 in.

Peabody Essex Museum, Salem, Massachusetts

“They Took Their Wives with Them on their Cruises” (c. 1938), oil on board, 34 x 24 in.

Gilcrease Museum, Tulsa, Oklahoma

“The Water Burial” (1906), oil on canvas, 24 x 38 in.
“To elevate the little into the great is genius.” – N.C. Wyeth

Image Gallery

Additional Resources

"My Father" by Andrew Wyeth

Read this biography of N.C. Wyeth written by Andrew Wyeth, celebrated painter and N.C. Wyeth’s son.

The N.C. Wyeth House & Studio

Virtually tour the artist’s home and studio in Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania through this video from the Brandywine River Museum of Art.

Composition Drawing

See the composition drawing to this painting, “The Coming of the Mayflower in 1620” (1941).

Inquire

Inquire - Art Single

Other Works by N.C. Wyeth

You May Also Like