返回

北卡罗来纳州(1882-1945 年)

 
N.C. WYETH - 1620年 "五月花 "的到来 - 布面油画 - 104 1/2 x 158 3/4 英寸。 N.C. WYETH - 1620年 "五月花 "的到来 - 布面油画 - 104 1/2 x 158 3/4 英寸。 N.C. WYETH - 1620年 "五月花 "的到来 - 布面油画 - 104 1/2 x 158 3/4 英寸。 N.C. WYETH - 1620年 "五月花 "的到来 - 布面油画 - 104 1/2 x 158 3/4 英寸。 N.C. WYETH - 1620年 "五月花 "的到来 - 布面油画 - 104 1/2 x 158 3/4 英寸。 N.C. WYETH - 1620年 "五月花 "的到来 - 布面油画 - 104 1/2 x 158 3/4 英寸。 N.C. WYETH - 1620年 "五月花 "的到来 - 布面油画 - 104 1/2 x 158 3/4 英寸。 N.C. WYETH - 1620年 "五月花 "的到来 - 布面油画 - 104 1/2 x 158 3/4 英寸。 N.C. WYETH - 1620年 "五月花 "的到来 - 布面油画 - 104 1/2 x 158 3/4 英寸。 N.C. WYETH - 1620年 "五月花 "的到来 - 布面油画 - 104 1/2 x 158 3/4 英寸。
1620年 "五月花 "号的到来1941104 1/2 x 158 3/4 in.(265.43 x 403.23 cm)布面油画
种源
大都会人寿保险公司。公司藏品(委托纽约办事处制作)。
希瑟-詹姆斯美术公司,纽约
展会信息
纽约,1985年,第13期,"五月花号的到来"
文学
"朝圣者的日子再次活在我们的壁画中",《内政部》(大都会人寿保险公司的出版物),第23卷第7期(1941年12月)。
N.C.怀斯,1941年所得税说明(未发表,布兰迪河博物馆图书馆)
道格拉斯-艾伦和小道格拉斯-艾伦,N.C.怀斯,绘画、插图和壁画集(纽约:皇冠出版社,1972)。
...更。。。 第1页。169-172页,图文并茂,第169页。
Robert San Souci, N. C. Wyeth's Pilgrims (San Francisco, CA: Chronicle Books, 1991), 详细插图。在正面插图上
Christine B. Podmaniczky, N. C. Wyeth, A Catalogue Raisonné of Paintings (London: Scala, 2008), M.67, p. 629
...少。。。
询问

"我希望我感到满意的时候永远不会到来。要达到一个人的野心的目标,必须是悲剧性的。"- N.C. Wyeth

关于1620年 "五月花 "号的到来

  • 构图绘画

    N.C. Wyeth为大都会生活馆壁画《五月花号的到来》(1940/1941)绘制的构图图稿。
  • 在我们的画廊展出

    在我们的画廊展出

    "1620年五月花号的到来"(1941年)在我们位于加州棕榈沙漠的画廊展出。

N.C.怀斯作为插图画家的非凡技能源于无可挑剔的绘图技巧,而作为画家,他对色彩的热情、和谐的感觉,以及捕捉光线本身质量的能力。但是,我们最钦佩的是他在用强大的情绪感来生动故事和人物方面无与伦比的艺术能力--他有能力把自己带到他所创作的世界和时间,并以一种诱人的信念感来传达它。这种能力在《金银岛的 "再走一步,手先生!"的复杂构图中是显而易见的,就像在这里,在对一艘方形船、十七世纪的商船在海上翻滚的简要叙述中一样。1620年 "五月花号 "的到来 是对可观察到的事实的简单陈述,但怀斯作为一个插图画家的无可挑剔的天才为它注入了令人振奋的盐雾和味道,捕捉到了那些在很大程度上被认为是建立了美国的男人和女人的冒险精神。这种精神体现在风和绷紧的船帆上,体现在船在强风中摇摆的姿态上,体现在插入的、流线型的云层上,体现在欢呼雀跃的海鸥上,因为它们是天意的羽翼天使,引导船到达安全的港湾。

1620年 "五月花号 "的到来 是基于两份研究报告,一份石墨构图画和一份小型演示画。完成的壁画似乎是在1941年安装的。

"在我的思想和心灵中,很自然地飞向普利茅斯,飞向朝圣者,作为一系列新英格兰绘画的合适主题。如果这些画的温暖和吸引力对研究它们的人来说是显而易见的,那主要是因为它们以某种相关的方式陈述了我自己的生活和遗产"。- N.C. Wyeth

历程

在没有电视和电影还处于起步阶段的时候,N.C.怀斯的插图使他视觉上塑造和注释的故事充满了活力。作为《金银岛》的年轻读者,谁能拒绝继续阅读下一幅光鲜的插图的紧迫感?或者,在兴奋的期待中,反复翻阅书页,看前面的图片,如此活泼、生动和充满勇气?  

1939年,大都会人寿公司向怀斯提供了一个不同类型的委托;一系列的帆布壁画,也许不太依赖夸夸其谈,而是依赖对时间和地点的深刻认识。他们将提供一个充满活力和宏伟的愿景,并通过庆祝表达美国意义的强大价值观来表达民族自豪感的精神。怀斯很兴奋。他同意制作的14幅壁画将使朝圣者的世界焕发生机,并 "作为新英格兰精神的图形和戏剧性表达"(道格拉斯-艾伦等人,N.C.怀斯。 N. C. Wyeth:The Collected Paintings, Illustrations, and Murals, pg . 169)。 怀斯是一位具有无与伦比的技巧的艺术家,他对他的叙述中的人物的真实性进行了充分的投资,他很高兴有机会传达他对祖先的过去感到自豪。

"早期殖民的浪漫,特别是马萨诸塞州的朝圣者,一直让我感到兴奋。我的祖先尼古拉斯-怀斯于1647年从威尔士来到马萨诸塞州。马萨诸塞州海岸的早期精神是我家里经常讨论的话题。我出生在尼德姆,离普利茅斯镇不远,在我的童年时代,我曾多次前往普利茅斯镇朝圣,在那片历史悠久的土地上和周围度过惊险的日子。以此为背景,在我的脑海中自然而然地飞向普利茅斯和朝圣者,作为一系列新英格兰绘画的合适主题。如果说这些画的温暖和吸引力对研究它们的人来说是显而易见的,那主要是因为它们以某种相关的方式陈述了我自己的生活和遗产"。(道格拉斯-艾伦等人,《N.C.怀斯。绘画、插图和壁画集》,第171页)。

"将小的提升为大的,就是天才"。- N.C. Wyeth

市场情报

  • NC Wyeth AMR
  • 艺术市场研究公司编制的图表显示,自1976年以来,N.C.怀斯的画作以13.4%的年回报率增长。
  • 市场图显示,自2010年以来有了显著的增长,最近在2020年又有了急剧的增长。 
  • N.C.怀斯在拍卖会上的价格记录是在2018年创造的,当时《一个农民的肖像》,一幅1943年的小画,以近600万美元的价格成交。如此规模的N.C.怀斯画作还没有出现在拍卖会上。

N.C.Wyeth拍卖的热门结果

文艺复兴时期面板上的淡彩画,40 x 60英寸。在纽约苏富比售出:2018年5月23日。

"Portrait of a Farmer (Pennsylvania Farmer)" (1943)以5,985,900美元成交。

文艺复兴时期面板上的淡彩画,40 x 60英寸。在纽约苏富比售出:2018年5月23日。
布面油画,43 x 30英寸。在纽约佳士得售出:2016年11月22日。

"举起手来"(1906年)以4,951,500美元成交。

布面油画,43 x 30英寸。在纽约佳士得售出:2016年11月22日。
布面油画,46 x 69 1/4英寸。在纽约佳士得拍卖会上出售:2020年10月28日。

"Indian Love Call"(1927年)以351万美元成交。

布面油画,46 x 69 1/4英寸。在纽约佳士得拍卖会上出售:2020年10月28日。

博物馆收藏的N.C. Wyeth画作

大都会艺术博物馆,纽约

"The Lobsterman (The Doryman)"(1944年),蛋彩画在木头上,23 1/4 x 47 1/4英寸。

费城艺术博物馆,宾夕法尼亚州

"弓的审判"(1929年),布面油画,58 × 45 3/4 × 2 1/4 英寸。

布兰迪河艺术博物馆,查德福特,宾夕法尼亚州

"岛屿的葬礼"(1939年),蛋彩和油画在硬板上,44 1/2 x 52 3/8英寸。

皮博迪埃塞克斯博物馆,塞勒姆,马萨诸塞州

"他们带着妻子出游"(约1938年),板上油画,34 x 24英寸。

吉尔克雷斯博物馆,图尔萨,俄克拉荷马州

"水葬"(1906),布面油画,24 x 38英寸。
"将小的提升为大的,就是天才"。- N.C. Wyeth

图片库

其他资源

安德鲁-怀斯的 "我的父亲"

阅读著名画家、N.C. Wyeth的儿子Andrew Wyeth撰写的N.C. Wyeth的传记。

N.C. Wyeth之家和工作室

通过布兰迪河艺术博物馆的这段视频,可以虚拟地参观艺术家在宾夕法尼亚州查德福特的家和工作室。

构图绘画

请看这幅画的构图图稿,《1620年五月花号的到来》(1941年)。

询问

查询 - 艺术单品

N.C. Wyeth的其他作品

你可能也喜欢

Back

N.C. WYETH (1882-1945)

 
N.C. WYETH - The Coming of the Mayflower in 1620 - oil on canvas - 104 1/2 x 158 3/4 in. N.C. WYETH - The Coming of the Mayflower in 1620 - oil on canvas - 104 1/2 x 158 3/4 in. N.C. WYETH - The Coming of the Mayflower in 1620 - oil on canvas - 104 1/2 x 158 3/4 in. N.C. WYETH - The Coming of the Mayflower in 1620 - oil on canvas - 104 1/2 x 158 3/4 in. N.C. WYETH - The Coming of the Mayflower in 1620 - oil on canvas - 104 1/2 x 158 3/4 in. N.C. WYETH - The Coming of the Mayflower in 1620 - oil on canvas - 104 1/2 x 158 3/4 in. N.C. WYETH - The Coming of the Mayflower in 1620 - oil on canvas - 104 1/2 x 158 3/4 in. N.C. WYETH - The Coming of the Mayflower in 1620 - oil on canvas - 104 1/2 x 158 3/4 in. N.C. WYETH - The Coming of the Mayflower in 1620 - oil on canvas - 104 1/2 x 158 3/4 in. N.C. WYETH - The Coming of the Mayflower in 1620 - oil on canvas - 104 1/2 x 158 3/4 in.
The Coming of the Mayflower in 16201941104 1/2 x 158 3/4 in.(265.43 x 403.23 cm) oil on canvas
Provenance
MetLife, Inc. Corporate Collection (Commissioned for New York offices)
Heather James Fine Art, New York
Exhibition
New York, NY, 1985, no. 13, "Coming of the Mayflower"
Literature
"The Days of the Pilgrims Live Again in Our Murals," The Home Office (publication of Metropolitan Life Insurance Co.), vol. 23. no. 7 (Dec. 1941)
N. C. Wyeth, Income Tax Notes for 1941 (unpublished, Brandywine River Museum Library)
 Douglas Allen and Douglas Allen, Jr., N. C. Wyeth, The Collected Paintings, Illustrations and Murals (New York: Crown Publishers, 1972),
...More... ps. 169-172, illus. b/w p. 169
Robert San Souci, N. C. Wyeth's Pilgrims (San Francisco, CA: Chronicle Books, 1991), detail illus. On frontispiece
Christine B. Podmaniczky, N. C. Wyeth, A Catalogue Raisonné of Paintings (London: Scala, 2008), M.67, p. 629
...LESS...
Inquire

“I hope the time will never come when I shall feel satisfied. To reach the goal of one’s ambitions must be tragic.” – N.C. Wyeth

About The Coming of the Mayflower in 1620

  • Composition Drawing

    N.C. Wyeth’s composition drawing for the Metropolitan Life mural “The Coming of the Mayflower” (1940/1941).
  • On view in Our Gallery

    On view in Our Gallery

    “The Coming of the Mayflower in 1620” (1941) on view in our gallery in Palm Desert, California.

N.C. Wyeth’s extraordinary skills as an illustrator were borne of impeccable draftsmanship and as a painter, his warmly rich, harmonious sense of color, and ability to capture the quality of light itself. But it is his unmatched artistry in vivifying story and character with a powerful sense of mood that we admire most of all — the ability to transport himself to the world and time of his creation and to convey it with a beguiling sense of conviction. That ability is as apparent in the compositional complexities of Treasure Island’s “One More Step, Mr. Hands!” as it is here, in the summary account of a square-rigged, seventeenth-century merchant ship tossed upon the seas. The Coming of the Mayflower in 1620 is a simple statement of observable facts, yet Wyeth’s impeccable genius as an illustrator imbues it with the bracing salt air and taste that captures the adventuresome spirit of the men and women who are largely credited with the founding of America. That spirit is carried on the wind and tautly billowed sails, the jaunty heeling of the ship at the nose of a stiff gale, the thrusting, streamed-limned clouds, and the gulls jauntily arranged to celebrate an arrival as they are the feathered angels of providence guiding it to safe harbor.

The Coming of the Mayflower in 1620 was based on two studies, a composition drawing in graphite and a small presentation painting. The finished mural appears to have been installed in 1941.

“It was natural that in my mind and heart should fly to Plymouth and to the Pilgrims as a fitting subject for a series of New England paintings. If then, the warmth and appeal of these paintings is apparent to those who study them, it is principally because they are, in some related way, a statement of my own life and heritage.” – N.C. Wyeth

History

Before there was television and of a time when film was still in its infancy, N. C. Wyeth’s illustrations electrified the stories he visually shaped and annotated. As a young reader of “Treasure Island,” who can deny the urgency to read on to the next glossy illustration? Or, in excited anticipation, thumb through the pages repeatedly to the pictures ahead, so alive and vivid and full of bravado?  

In 1939, The Metropolitan Life Company offered Wyeth a commission of a different sort; a series of canvas murals that would rely less on bravado, perhaps, but instead, on a deep sense of time and place. They would offer an energetic and grand vision and express the spirit of national pride by celebrating the strong values that express what it means to be American. Wyeth was thrilled. The fourteen mural panels he agreed to produce would bring the world of Pilgrims to glowing life and “serve as a graphic and dramatic expression of the spirit of New England” (Douglas Allen, et al., N. C. Wyeth: The Collected Paintings, Illustrations, and Murals, pg. 169).  Wyeth, an artist of unparalleled skill and fully invested in the authenticity of the characters that populate his narratives, relished the opportunity to convey the pride he felt toward his ancestral past.

“The romance of early colonization, especially that of the Pilgrims in Massachusetts, had always excited me. My ancestor, Nicholas Wyeth, came from Wales to Massachusetts in 1647. The spirit of early days on the Massachusetts coast was an oft-discussed subject in my home. I was born in Needham, not far from the town of Plymouth, to which I made many pilgrimages during my boyhood, spending thrilling days in and around that historic territory. With this as a background, it was natural that in my mind and heart should fly to Plymouth and to the Pilgrims as a fitting subject for a series of New England paintings. If then, the warmth and appeal of these paintings is apparent to those who study them, it is principally because they are, in some related way, a statement of my own life and heritage.” (Douglas Allen, et al., N. C. Wyeth: The Collected Paintings, Illustrations and Murals, pg. 171)

More
“To elevate the little into the great is genius.” – N.C. Wyeth

MARKET INSIGHTS

  • NC Wyeth AMR
  • The graph prepared by Art Market Research shows that since 1976, paintings by N.C. Wyeth have increased at a 13.4% annual rate of return.
  • The market graph shows significant growth since 2010 and a sharp increase as recently as 2020. 
  • The record price for N.C. Wyeth at auction was set in 2018 when Portrait of a Farmer, a smaller painting from 1943, sold for nearly $6M. No N.C. Wyeth paintings on this monumental scale have appeared at auction.

Top Results for N.C. Wyeth at Auction

Tempera on Renaissance panel, 40 x 60 in. Sold at Sotheby’s New York: 23 May 2018.

"Portrait of a Farmer (Pennsylvania Farmer)" (1943) sold for $5,985,900 USD.

Tempera on Renaissance panel, 40 x 60 in. Sold at Sotheby’s New York: 23 May 2018.
Oil on canvas, 43 x 30 in. Sold at Christie’s New York: 22 November 2016.

"Hands Up" (1906) sold for $4,951,500 USD.

Oil on canvas, 43 x 30 in. Sold at Christie’s New York: 22 November 2016.
Oil on canvas, 46 x 69 1/4 in. Sold at Christie’s New York: 28 October 2020.

"Indian Love Call" (1927) sold for $3,510,000 USD.

Oil on canvas, 46 x 69 1/4 in. Sold at Christie’s New York: 28 October 2020.

N.C. Wyeth Paintings in Museum Collections

Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York

“The Lobsterman (The Doryman)” (1944), egg tempera on wood, 23 1/4 x 47 1/4 in.

Philadelphia Museum of Art, Pennsylvania

“The Trial of the Bow” (1929), oil on canvas, 58 × 45 3/4 × 2 1/4 in.

Brandywine River Museum of Art, Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania

“Island Funeral” (1939), egg tempera and oil on hardboard, 44 1/2 x 52 3/8 in.

Peabody Essex Museum, Salem, Massachusetts

“They Took Their Wives with Them on their Cruises” (c. 1938), oil on board, 34 x 24 in.

Gilcrease Museum, Tulsa, Oklahoma

“The Water Burial” (1906), oil on canvas, 24 x 38 in.
“To elevate the little into the great is genius.” – N.C. Wyeth

Image Gallery

Additional Resources

"My Father" by Andrew Wyeth

Read this biography of N.C. Wyeth written by Andrew Wyeth, celebrated painter and N.C. Wyeth’s son.

The N.C. Wyeth House & Studio

Virtually tour the artist’s home and studio in Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania through this video from the Brandywine River Museum of Art.

Composition Drawing

See the composition drawing to this painting, “The Coming of the Mayflower in 1620” (1941).

Inquire

Inquire - Art Single

Other Works by N.C. Wyeth

You May Also Like