توم WESSELMANN & nbsp(1931-2004)

توم ويسلمان ولد توم فيسيلمان في سينسيناتي أوهايو في 23 فبراير 1931. التحق بالجامعة من 1945-1951، أولاً في كلية حيرام في أوهايو ثم في جامعة سينسيناتي، حيث تخصص في علم النفس. تم تجنيده خلال الحرب الكورية في عام 1952 ، وخلال هذا الوقت قام فيسيلمان بأول رسومه المتحركة. بعد أن تم تسريحه والانتهاء من الحصول على درجة في علم النفس، بدأ فيسيلمان دراسة الرسم في أكاديمية الفنون في سينسيناتي. باع شرائطه الكرتونية الأولى إلى مجلتين، 1000 نكتة وصحيح.

في عام 1956، تم قبوله في كوبر يونيون في نيويورك وواصل دراسته هناك. كان بينما كان يدرس في نيويورك، وتحديدا في رحلة إلى MoMA أن Wesselmann أصبح مستوحاة من روبرت مذرويل وويليم دي كونينغ. في عام 1958، رحلة رسم المناظر الطبيعية إلى معسكر كوبر يونيون الأخضر في ولاية نيو جيرسي جلبت له أن أدرك أنه يمكن أن تجعل حياته المهنية في الرسم، بدلا من الرسوم المتحركة.

بعد التخرج، أصبح فيسيلمان أحد الأعضاء المؤسسين لمعرض جودسون، جنبا إلى جنب مع مارك راتليف وجيم دين. كما بدأ فيسيلمان في تدريس الفن في مدرسة عامة في بروكلين ثم في المدرسة الثانوية للفنون والتصميم.

في عام 1961، بدأ فيسيلمان السلسلة التي من شأنها أن تجلب له انتباه عالم الفن، عارية الأمريكية العظمى. بعد حلم يتعلق بعبارة "الأحمر والأبيض والأزرق"، قرر فيسيلمان أن يقصر نفسه على لوحة من تلك الألوان فقط (بما في ذلك الألوان مثل الذهب والكاكي التي ترتبط مع الزخارف الوطنية). تضمنت هذه السلسلة صورًا تمثيلية على طول نفس الموضوع الوطني ، بما في ذلك صور المناظر الطبيعية الأمريكية وصور الآباء المؤسسين. وكثيراً ما قام فيسيلمان بلصق هذه الصور من المجلات والملصقات المهملة التي تطلبت منه العمل في شكل أكبر بكثير مما كان عليه. كما أصبحت أعماله أكبر وأكبر اقترب من المعلنين مباشرة للحصول على اللوحات الإعلانية. أقيم أول عرض منفرد لفيسيلمان في عام 1961 في معرض تاناغر. في عام 1962، قدم له ريتشارد بيلامي معرض رجل واحد في المعرض الأخضر.

في عام 1962، شارك فيسيلمان في المعرض الجماعي "الواقعيون الجدد" في معرض سيدني جانيس واستهل مسيرته الدولية. في أنّ نفسه سنة أتى ه أولى قطعات مع العنوان من ساكنة حياة, حوالي. في هذه الأعمال، ركز فيسيلمان على التجاور بين عناصر مختلفة، أي إعلانية سجائر بجانب تفاحة مطلية. وجد الإثارة في الصدام بين الحقائق المختلفة والذين يغذون بعضهم البعض. في عام 1963 تزوج زوجته وزميلته الطالبة في كوبر يونيون، كلير سيلي، الذي كان أيضا نموذجه الأكثر أهمية. في نفس العام بدأ سلسلة مجمعات حوض الاستحمام. في 1964 أتى غرفة نوم لوحات, مع منظر اتّسف ومدخنة, أيّ هو استمرّ على داخل الثمانينات. في عام 1980 نشر دراسة مكتوبة عن عمله تحت اسم مستعار سليم ليفيشورث. في عام 1983، تم إنتاج أول سلسلة من أعماله المعدنية، والتي كانت تستند إلى رسوماته ورسوماته.

كانت صحة فيسيلمان تتدهور بسبب سماع المرض وفي 17 ديسمبر 2004 توفي فيسيلمان بعد جراحة في القلب.

بسبب اختياره للأشياء التافهة ، وضخامتها والحد منها في وقت لاحق إلى القوالب النمطية ، جنبا إلى جنب مع استخدامه للون مشرق ، ويعتبر Wesselmann واحدة من مؤسسي فن البوب الأمريكية. Wesselmann لم يكن مرتاحا جدا مع هذا الإدراج في مجموعة فن البوب. ورأى أنه جعل الاستخدام الجمالي للأشياء اليومية بدلا من نقد لهم كأشياء المستهلك. ورأى أن مصطلح "البوب" يبالغ في التأكيد على المواد المستخدمة وأن نواياه ليست نوايا فناني البوب الآخرين.

العمل الفني

توم ويسلمان
غرفة نوم الثدي
النفط على قطع من الألومنيوم
٨٠ × ٧٦ × ١٠ بوصة.
توم ويسلمان
غرفة نوم سمراء مع Irises
النفط على قطع من الألومنيوم
105 3/4 × 164 5/8 بوصة
الفنان الاستفسار

TOM WESSELMANN

Tom Wesselmann was born in Cincinnati Ohio on February 23 1931. He attended college from 1945-1951, first at the Hiram College in Ohio and then the University of Cincinnati, where he majored in psychology. He was drafted during the Korean War in 1952, and it was during this time that Wesselmann did his first cartoons. After he was discharged and had finished in degree in psychology, Wesselmann began to study drawing at the Art Academy of Cincinnati. He sold his first cartoon strips to two magazines, 1000 Jokes and True.

In 1956, he was accepted to Cooper Union in New York and he continued his studies there. It was while he was studying in New York, specifically on a trip to the MoMA that Wesselmann became inspired by Robert Motherwell and Willem de Kooning. In 1958, a landscape painting trip to Cooper Union’s Green Camp in New Jersey brought him to the realization that he could make his career in painting, rather than cartooning.

After graduation, Wesselmann became one of the founding members of the Judson Gallery, along with Marc Ratliff and Jim Dine. Wesselmann also began to teach art at a public school in Brooklyn and later at the High School of Art and Design.

In 1961, Wesselmann began the series that would bring him to the attention of the art world, Great American Nude. After a dream concerning the phrase “red, white and blue”, Wesselmann decided to limit himself to a palette of only those colors (including colors like gold and khaki that are associated with patriotic motifs). This series incorporated representational images along the same patriotic theme, including American landscape photographs and portraits of the founding fathers. Wesselmann often collaged these images from magazines and discarded posters which required him to work in a much larger format than he was used to. As his works became larger and larger he approached advertisers directly to acquire billboards. Wesselmann’s first solo show was held in 1961 at Tanager Gallery. In 1962, Richard Bellamy gave him a one man exhibition at the Green Gallery.

In 1962, Wesselmann participated in the group exhibition “New Realists” at the Sidney Janis Gallery and kicked off his international career. In that same year his first pieces with the title of Still Life, came about. In these works, Wesselmann concentrated on the juxtaposition of different elements, i.e. a cigarette ad next to a painted apple. He found excitement in the clashing of different realities and who they feed off of one another. In 1963 he married his wife and fellow student at Cooper Union, Claire Selley, who was also his most important model. In that same year he began the series Bathtub Collages. In 1964 came Bedroom Paintings, along with Seascapes and Smoker, which he continued on into the 1980s. In 1980 he published a written study on his own work under the pseudonym Slim Stealingworth. In 1983, the first of his Metal Works series were produced, which were based on his sketches and drawings.

Wesselmann’s health was deteriorating due to hear disease and on December 17th 2004 Wesselmann died following heart surgery.

Because of his choice of trivial objects, their monumentalisation and subsequent reduction to stereotypes, combined with his use of bright color, Wesselmann is considered one of the founders of American pop art. Wesselmann was never very comfortable with this inclusion in the pop art group. He felt that he made aesthetic use of everyday objects rather than a criticism of them as consumer objects. He felt that the term “pop” overemphasized the materials used and that his intentions were not that of other pop artists.

TOM WESSELMANN
Study for Bedroom Painting #6
pencil and thinned Liquitex on paper
5 1/4 x 6 3/4 in.
TOM WESSELMANN
Big Blonde
screenprint in colors on wove paper
55 x 74 in.
TOM WESSELMANN
Bedroom Breast
oil on cut-out aluminum
80 x 76 x 10 in.
TOM WESSELMANN
1962 Plus 35 Nude Sketch II
alkyd oil on canvas
43 x 58 5/8 in.