汤姆韦塞尔曼恩(1931-2004)

托姆·韦塞尔曼 汤姆·韦塞尔曼1931年2月23日出生于俄亥俄州辛辛那提市。1945年至1951年,他就读于俄亥俄州希拉姆学院,后就读于辛辛那提大学,主修心理学。他于1952年朝鲜战争期间被征召入伍,正是在这段时间里,韦塞尔曼做了他的第一个漫画。出院后,韦塞尔曼在辛辛那提艺术学院学习绘画。他把第一张卡通片卖给了两本杂志,《1000个笑话》和《真》。

1956年,他被纽约的库珀联盟录取,并在那里继续他的学业。韦塞尔曼在纽约学习期间,特别是在一次MoMA之旅中,受到罗伯特·莫特韦尔和威廉·德·库宁的启发。1958年,在新泽西州库珀联盟的绿营进行山水画之旅,使他意识到他可以从事绘画事业,而不是漫画。

毕业后,韦塞尔曼与马克·拉特利夫和吉姆·迪恩一起成为贾德森画廊的创始成员之一。韦塞尔曼还开始在布鲁克林的一所公立学校教授艺术,后来又在艺术和设计高中教艺术。

1961年,韦塞尔曼开始了这个系列,将提请艺术界的注意,伟大的美国裸体。在梦见了"红、白、蓝"这个词之后,韦塞尔曼决定把自己限制在只有那些颜色(包括与爱国图案相关的金色和卡其色)的调色板中。该系列纳入了沿同一爱国主题的代表性图像,包括美国风景照片和开国元勋的肖像。韦塞尔曼经常从杂志和废弃的海报上拼贴这些图像,这些海报要求他以比过去大得多的格式工作。随着他的作品变得越来越大,他直接与广告商接触,以获得广告牌。韦塞尔曼的第一次个人展于1961年在塔纳格画廊举行。1962年,理查德·贝拉米在绿色画廊举办了一个人画展。

1962年,韦塞尔曼参加了西德尼·贾尼斯画廊的"新现实主义者"团体展览,并开始了他的国际职业生涯。同年,他的第一部作品以《静命》为题而出现。在这些作品中,韦塞尔曼专注于不同元素的并列,即一个在涂有苹果旁边的香烟广告。他发现,在不同的现实的冲突,他们养活了彼此的兴奋。1963年,他娶了他的妻子和库珀联盟的同学克莱尔·塞利,他也是他最重要的模特。同年,他开始了系列的浴缸拼贴画。1964年,《卧室画》与《海景》和《烟囱》一起出现,并延续到20世纪80年代。1980年,他以化名斯利姆·辛特里沃斯发表了一篇关于自己作品的书面研究报告。1983 年,他的第一个金属作品系列被制作出来,该系列以他的素描和素描为基础。

韦塞尔曼的健康状况因听到疾病而恶化,2004年12月17日,韦塞尔曼在心脏手术后去世。

由于他选择的琐碎物品,其纪念性,并随后减少到陈规陋习,再加上他使用明亮的颜色,韦塞尔曼被认为是美国流行艺术的创始人之一。韦塞尔曼从未对这种融入流行艺术团体感到非常满意。他觉得,他审美地利用日常用品,而不是批评他们作为消费对象。他认为,"流行"一词过分强调所使用的材料,他的意图不是其他流行艺术家的意图。

艺术品

托姆·韦塞尔曼
21号烟囱
异形画布上的油彩
74 1/2 x 67 1/2 英寸。
托姆·韦塞尔曼
卧室乳房
切断铝上的油
80 x 76 x 10 英寸
托姆·韦塞尔曼
卧室里的布鲁内特与伊尔塞斯
切断铝上的油
105 3/4 x 164 5/8 英寸。
托姆·韦塞尔曼
带帽子和珠子的部分莫妮卡
激光切割钢上的珐琅
38 1/2 x 22 1/2 in.
艺术家咨询

TOM WESSELMANN

Tom Wesselmann was born in Cincinnati Ohio on February 23 1931. He attended college from 1945-1951, first at the Hiram College in Ohio and then the University of Cincinnati, where he majored in psychology. He was drafted during the Korean War in 1952, and it was during this time that Wesselmann did his first cartoons. After he was discharged and had finished in degree in psychology, Wesselmann began to study drawing at the Art Academy of Cincinnati. He sold his first cartoon strips to two magazines, 1000 Jokes and True.

In 1956, he was accepted to Cooper Union in New York and he continued his studies there. It was while he was studying in New York, specifically on a trip to the MoMA that Wesselmann became inspired by Robert Motherwell and Willem de Kooning. In 1958, a landscape painting trip to Cooper Union’s Green Camp in New Jersey brought him to the realization that he could make his career in painting, rather than cartooning.

After graduation, Wesselmann became one of the founding members of the Judson Gallery, along with Marc Ratliff and Jim Dine. Wesselmann also began to teach art at a public school in Brooklyn and later at the High School of Art and Design.

In 1961, Wesselmann began the series that would bring him to the attention of the art world, Great American Nude. After a dream concerning the phrase “red, white and blue”, Wesselmann decided to limit himself to a palette of only those colors (including colors like gold and khaki that are associated with patriotic motifs). This series incorporated representational images along the same patriotic theme, including American landscape photographs and portraits of the founding fathers. Wesselmann often collaged these images from magazines and discarded posters which required him to work in a much larger format than he was used to. As his works became larger and larger he approached advertisers directly to acquire billboards. Wesselmann’s first solo show was held in 1961 at Tanager Gallery. In 1962, Richard Bellamy gave him a one man exhibition at the Green Gallery.

In 1962, Wesselmann participated in the group exhibition “New Realists” at the Sidney Janis Gallery and kicked off his international career. In that same year his first pieces with the title of Still Life, came about. In these works, Wesselmann concentrated on the juxtaposition of different elements, i.e. a cigarette ad next to a painted apple. He found excitement in the clashing of different realities and who they feed off of one another. In 1963 he married his wife and fellow student at Cooper Union, Claire Selley, who was also his most important model. In that same year he began the series Bathtub Collages. In 1964 came Bedroom Paintings, along with Seascapes and Smoker, which he continued on into the 1980s. In 1980 he published a written study on his own work under the pseudonym Slim Stealingworth. In 1983, the first of his Metal Works series were produced, which were based on his sketches and drawings.

Wesselmann’s health was deteriorating due to hear disease and on December 17th 2004 Wesselmann died following heart surgery.

Because of his choice of trivial objects, their monumentalisation and subsequent reduction to stereotypes, combined with his use of bright color, Wesselmann is considered one of the founders of American pop art. Wesselmann was never very comfortable with this inclusion in the pop art group. He felt that he made aesthetic use of everyday objects rather than a criticism of them as consumer objects. He felt that the term “pop” overemphasized the materials used and that his intentions were not that of other pop artists.

TOM WESSELMANN
Study for Bedroom Painting #6
pencil and thinned Liquitex on paper
5 1/4 x 6 3/4 in.
TOM WESSELMANN
Big Blonde
screenprint in colors on wove paper
55 x 74 in.
TOM WESSELMANN
Bedroom Breast
oil on cut-out aluminum
80 x 76 x 10 in.
TOM WESSELMANN
1962 Plus 35 Nude Sketch II
alkyd oil on canvas
43 x 58 5/8 in.